Design Guild Mark

Design Guild Mark

Design Guild Mark, 2D CATEGORY

Call for entries for fabrics, textiles, wall coverings, floor coverings and carpets is now open

Closing date: 2 March 2018

The prestigious Design Guild Mark is awarded by The Furniture Makers’ Company, the furnishing industry’s charity, in order to drive excellence and raise the profile of British design and innovation.

The Mark has traditionally recognised the highest standards in the design of furniture for volume production, by the finest designers working in Britain, or British designers working abroad. For the first time in the Design Guild Mark’s 10 year history, it is adding a 2D design category – rewarding excellence in fabrics, textiles, wall coverings, floor coverings and carpets. The judges are renowned experts in their respective fields and bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the process.

Judging Criteria

A Design Guild Mark can be awarded, for a design, which is in current volume production. Evidence of this must be provided in terms of the design process and the means of production.

Furthermore, it must be designed:

  • by any British designer, or

  • by any United Kingdom based design practice

Entries must demonstrate excellence in design, materials, manufacture and function. Is the design outstanding?

Consideration will be given, for example to:

  • Are the materials appropriate?

  • Are they from sustainable sources?

  • Does the piece show new thinking?

  • Does it represent value?

  • Does it solve a problem?

  • Is it fit for purpose?

  • Does the design have longevity?

  • Has the design been refined for and is it capable of being produced in volume?

For more information about each category’s criteria, please download the ‘DGM – 2D Category – About’ document from this page.

Judging Panel

Uniquely, designers present their design in person, giving the judging panel the opportunity to examine it closely, and find out first hand from the mind behind the piece, how it demonstrates excellence in the design of furniture for volume production.
Unlike traditional awards, the Design Guild Mark doesn’t pit design against design. There is
no first, second or third place. If a piece meets the criteria, it is awarded a Mark: simple. There is no limit of how many pieces can receive a Mark – all of them could receive one or none of them.

Led by Rodney McMahon,  Design Guild Mark chairman, our 2018 judging panel will be:

  • Linzi Coppick, Design director, Forme UK
  • Daniel Hopwood, Creative director of Hopwood Design Studios
  • Prof Clare Johnston, Professor of textiles, Royal College of Art
  • Natasha Marshall, Director, Natasha Marshall
  • Corinne Pringle, Director, tp bennett
  • Peter Thwaites, Design director, Rapture & Wright

A full list of judges will be made public before the judging day at The Furniture Makers’ Hall, London on 28th March 2018.


Pieces or ranges of furniture awarded a Design Guild Mark are recognisably items of quality and excellence. To substantiate and promote this accolade, Design Guild Mark holders are entitled:

  1. It’s money well spent
    • Participating in the Design Guild Mark costs less than an online banner, less than a 1/4 page print ad. And it can bring you and your brand much more.
  2. It’s an accreditation of quality
    • The Mark recognises the highest standards in the design of furnishings in volume production, by designers working in Britain or British designers working abroad, and is judged by an independent body of renowned judges who are experts in their respective fields.
  3. You get great press and social media coverage
    • Have your work shown to the design world and beyond. See the 2017 coverage on
  4. You’re in good company
    • Look at and our Pinterest and Instagram accounts to see past holders.

The Jonathan Hindle Prize for Excellence

Created in 2015 by Design Guild Mark founder Jonathan Hindle, this cash prize of £1,000 is awarded to the most outstanding design in any year. The judges will assess this prize once the Design Guild Marks have been awarded. All entries that receive a Design Guild Mark are eligible for this prize.

How to apply

An application form is available to download. Questions can be answered by Doreen Oddy, Guildmarks Manager by emailing or by calling 020 7256 5558.

The application fee is £100 + VAT with successful entries having to pay a further £250 + VAT

The closing date is 2 March 2018.

Design Guild Mark newsletter sign-up

Keep up-to-date with Design Guild Mark news by signing up to the monthly newsletter.