News - General

The Furniture Makers’ Company opens Sustainability Award

We are now welcoming entries for our prestigious Sustainability Award.

Now in its sixth year, the Sustainability Award recognises improvements in sustainability in relation to manufacturing of furniture, beds and bedding, flooring and furnishings.

The annual award considers all aspects of how a business is operated – waste and energy management, design process, product improvements, packaging, transportation, procurement, end of life management, client relationships, supplier management, employee engagement and corporate social responsibility.

The deadline for entries is 22 September 2017. Last year’s winner was Newcastle-based office furniture manufacturer Godfrey Syrett. Previous winners include Hypnos Beds, Orangebox, Premiere Kitchens and Senator International.

Paul von der Heyde, Manufacturing Guild Mark chairman, said: “The goal of the Sustainability Award is to recognise and champion companies determined to leave a fine legacy to future generations. We invite UK companies to submit case studies for consideration by the panel of judges who will select the manufacturer deemed to have made the best contribution to sustainable manufacturing in the previous year. The size of the business concerned will be taken into account so that the relative importance of their progress can be measured to equalise opportunities.”

Entry forms are available here. Questions about this award can be answered by Jonny Westbrooke, Chief Executive and Clerk of The Furniture Makers’ Company, by telephone on 020 7256 5558 or email:

Assessment procedure

The panel of judges will consider all the submissions at a meeting to be held after the closing date of 22 September 2017 for entries and a shortlist will then be drawn up. The Sustainability Award is based on the foundation provided by FISP, administered by the Furniture Industry Research Association (FIRA).

Companies which are shortlisted will be invited to make a brief presentation of their application to the judges and to answer any questions at a meeting to be held at Furniture Makers’ Hall in October with the presentation of the award taking place at the Royal Charter Dinner on 26 October 2017.

The Judges

Dr Tony Smart MBE
Master of the Worshipful Company of Furniture Makers

Paul von der Heyde
Chairman of Manufacturing Guild Mark

Alan Marshall

Liveryman of The Furniture Makers’ Company and environmental advisor to the industry

Alun Watkins
Executive Director PEFC (UK) Ltd.

Phil Reynolds

Chief Executive of Furniture Industry Research Association